More Liebster, now with 100% less apostrophes

Welcome to part 3 of the 3 part series where I fulfill my obligations as a Liebster award nominee.

Annoyingly for those who nominated me, it has taken me ages to respond to the nominations. My excuse is that I was very busy working 2 jobs, and in my spare time, making preparations for a long overdue holiday, comprising of an overseas trip! Im sure its hard to feel sorry for me when you hear that, but that is the only excuse I have.

Now, believe it or not, Im trying to make up for it, by typing this on a computer in Florence, Italy, that looks as though it was built when the city was at its best, ie, during the Renaissance, and apparently before the invention of the apostrophe, as I cannot locate one. 

So today I will address 11 questions that were posted by Pink Jumpers, with my apologies for how long it has taken me.

Questions and answers will be presented together in one, simple, easy-to-read format, designed for mobility and easily packed up into the size of a piece of chewing gum so you can put them in your pocket to read, or chew, later on, as the mood takes you. Perfect for travelling!

1. What advice would you give to any aspiring blogger?

Read lots of blogs before you start. Focus on the ones that grab your attention and make you want to keep coming back. Youll probably find its not simply the subject matter and content, but also the way that blogger writes about it that interests you. Since that is the style of writing you respond positively to, try to use that style as a guide to how to write while finding your own voice on your blog. Also, find a computer that has an apostrophe button.

(Of course, bear in mind that this sage-sounding advice comes from someone who until recently only had imaginary people reading her blog, so what do I know?)

2. What happened on the best day of your life?

The most recent best day of my life was probably the day AFTER arriving in Rome on this trip, having finally slept and showered off the griminess of being stuck in the same clothes for about 36 hours. That day began with waking up at about 5.30am in Rome, and going out for a walk before 7am. (jetlag is quite helpful at the start of a trip from the southern hemisphere to the northern hemisphere).

Id love to accompany this post with some photos (and apostrophes) but the computer Im editing this post on was built before iPhones were invented, and looks too old to try downloading images onto.

3. If you could hug anyone, who would you choose?

My brother John.

4. Are you a morning or a night person?

Neither really, although if forced to choose, I’d probably stay up late. As I’ve answered before, I’m an overlooked third option – I function best when I get about 9 hours of sleep, and don’t cope well with being up before 7am. At exceptional times – for example when travelling overseas and adjusting to a new timezone – I can get up at 6am to make the most of the day, but  as pay back, Im totally zonked by 9.30pm.

5. If you became the ruler of the world, what would you do first?

Thats easy – Id resign and hand the role over to someone else. I have no interest in ruling anything, let alone the world.

Plus, I suspect those World Leader types don’t get a lot of sleep. That life is not for me. I’d be better utilised as the Personal Assistant to the World Ruler – as long as that didn’t necessitate 6am starts, or carrying a tray of hot coffees up the stairs to a conference of World Leaders, because that would just end in tears.

6. What is the most impulsive/spontaneous thing you’ve ever done?

Are there degrees of spontaneity? I guess that I, and everyone else, yes, even the most cautious and predictable person such as my mother, do small, inconsequential, spontaneous things every day. Things like thinking – I feel like having a cup of tea! Wow – I think I’ll cross the road to check out that vintage shop on the corner! Hmmm…I came to the supermarket for toilet paper but I think I’ll grab a block of chocolate as well!

All of those tiny things are done spontaneously, so how do I measure what the MOST spontaneous thing I’ve ever done is? Overall Im someone who likes to think major decisions through, but weighing up pros and cons and putting off decisions sometimes results in having to do things fairly quickly when they are decided on, which makes it appear to be spontaneous. For example, I’ve been considering going overseas for about 5 years, and finding reasons every year not to. I finally made the decision to take this trip in December last year, and due to other people who decided to come too, it kind of had to be by March of this year – that made it all a big rush to organise! But I would never even desire to be as forward planning and organised as some friends of mine who, at that same point in time, had already booked their flights and organised all their accommodation and itinerary for a trip they are taking in September this year. 

7. If you had to chance to meet a single character in history, who would you choose and why?

At risk of taking another 4 weeks to write this post while I first try to decide who that would be, and then why, Im going to defer my answer to this question for a later post.

8. What is your favourite flavour of ice cream?

Honeycomb

9. What is your most prized possession?

The bits and pieces of my brothers things that I kept when he died.

10. If you could only listen to a single song for the rest of your life, which song would you choose?

Thats hard to choose, since clearly, after about week two of listening only to this song, I would hate it with a passion, so Id be loathe to nominate an all time favourite. Ill have to choose something that I like but could live without. I had Cannonball, by the Breeders, in my head for about 2 days straight on this trip so perhaps Ill nominate that for the dubious honor.

11. What is your favourite thing about blogging?

The freedom and creativity  of writing on my blog.
 
Now I think Ive fulfilled all the obligations of being a Leibster award nominee, apart from nominating other blogs. I fear it may be beyond the capabilities of this computer to open up multiple screens so that I can link up other blogs, so Im going to nominate the blogs that Ive already linked to on my homepage.
 
 
PS. – to Pink Jumpers, I have twice tried to link back to you in this post but it seems as though that is beyond the capabilities of this ancient computer. If it doesnt work, I will fix it up as soon as I am able to get to a device that can manage it….but unless thats my iphone, it may be 4 weeks away!
 
(PSS. Update a month later – back in Australia now and using a computer that was made in the current millenium, I’ve now linked back to you, hope it’s not too late!)
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Yay! I was just thinking this morning that I hadn’t seen anything from you for a while. Glad to see you again! P.S. Nice choice on the Cannonball by The Breeders! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Awww, loved it! ^_^
    I hope you enjoy your four weeks eating pizza and impersonating Mario. 😉
    😀

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks. The food here is dangerous…lunch yesterday consisted of pizza AND pasta! (A slice bought at a market and shared). After publishing that post I realised I was supposed to come up with questions as well….that might have to be another post!

      Like

      Reply

Blather away!

