A short play for two people

Scene: a kitchen.

Two elderly people – we’ll call these characters Mum and Dad, are seated at the kitchen bench looking through a pile of photos from their son’s recent wedding.

A third person, looking to be in her forties, is drying dishes nearby. We’ll call her Daughter.

Mum: (squinting as she peers closely at a photo) Who’s that?
Daughter (steps in and looks at the photo): um, that’s your husband of, what….nearly 50 years now?
Mum: (tone of surprise) Oh! (directs next question to Dad, as if trying to get her head around a complex scenario): So…..you were standing next to [son] and…….his friend was standing on the other side of him?
Dad (takes photo to verify): It sure looks that way.

 

mg-cartoon-dad-paul-g-paul-b-at-pauls-wedding

An Artist’s Impression of the unbelievable scene that took place that day.

 

*
PS: on formatting – many thanks to Silver Tiger for emailing me with the tip on how to finally get a space to appear in the published version of this post, between the text and the image. I’ve never had a problem before but for some reason on this post, in the draft it looked fine but in the published version there was no space. Now fixed and I’m 100% happy with the result. I knew some lovely reader would have the required know-how. Hurray for readers! Hurray for know-how!
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. so funny. and sorry, i am the worst tech person on the planet so i’m no help with the formatting.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hi. When I’ve had technical questions about my blog, I’ve written to help@wordpress.com, which is WordPress’s help desk. They have answered my questions accurately.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. If you use the WP editor as it comes, then you are limited to what it provides with regard to line spacing and so on. I don’t use the WP editor: I compose my posts offline using an HTML editor that I can tweak by adding my own HTML. If you don’t know any HTML, then I don’t think there is much you can do to subvert WordPress’s editor.

    However, I can give you a way to add a blank line between paragraphs or between text and image. If you’re unused to coding it may seem complicated but it isn’t really. And it works. (I’ve tried and tested it.) Rather than write it all out here, I’ve put it in an email which I am sending to the Hotmail address you put on comments to my blog. Feel free to contact me further about it.

    If anyone else wants to know my ‘method’, they can contact me by email (see sidebar on my blog).

    Like

    Reply
  4. Having thought further about the blank line problem, I propose an even simpler solution.

    I assume you are using the WP editor in Visual mode and the problem is that when you hit Enter, though this produces a blank line in the editor, this blank line disappears in Preview or in the published post.

    That is because the WP editor doesn’t keep lines with nothing on them. So the solution is to put something on the line, something invisible!

    Solution:
    Press Enter to make a new line
    Press and hold the Alt key
    While holding the Alt key, type 255 ON THE NUMERIC KEYPAD. (It MUST be the numeric keypad, not the numbers across the top of the keyboard and you must make sure the NumLock is ON.)

    Typing Alt+255 inserts a ‘hard space’ which counts as text, just like a letter or a digit even though it is invisible. Your ‘blank line’ is now a line of text and the editor will not delete it.

    (You can type Alt+255 anywhere where you want extra spaces that won’t disappear through automatic formatting.)

    Email me if there are any problems.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to work out these tips and pass them on, Silver Tiger. I ended up following the tip you emailed me, and that worked easily. I must save that nifty little bit of code – and I tell you what, won’t I feel smarmy knowing how to use it?! It’s like knowing how to say “oh no, not stew again!” in French. (Thanks to my year 8 French teacher). You never know when that one snippet will be useful.

    I must also comment on your thoughtfulness in working out various ways to do this, and also on including instructions in your email to me, on how to edit a post after publishing it. (I did already know how to edit after publishing, in fact I’m notorious for publishing posts I’m not completely happy with, and then about 3 days later – basically after all 3 regular readers have read the less-than-perfect version – going back and editing them until I’m satisfied that the version now floating like a lonely tumbleweed out in cyberspace for eternity, is a far superior version to the original.)

    Like

    Reply
    • I started blogging a decade ago when Internet connections were neither as cheap nor as reliable as they are now (at least, in the UK). For that reason, I have never used WordPress’s online editor because I knew the line would drop at some critical moment. I have always written my posts using HTML and uploaded the complete thing at one go.

      The different ‘themes’ offered by WordPress can differ widely in how well they deal with HTML. For example, in my previous theme, I extensively used tables for formatting (now frowned on by HTML purists) but these just don’t work the same way in my present theme, meaning I had to rewrite the majority of my posts. As a result I soon learnt various tricks and work-arounds. Use of HTML allows you to do things that would be impossible just using the online editor. If you have any other formatting needs that the editor doesn’t provide, drop me a line and I might be able to suggest a solution. It’s quite fun working out how to subvert the system!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Blather away!

