Here is one

Here is one

First up, I have to concede, all by itself, this 3 word sentence looks unimpressive.

To anyone else, it must seem an unlikely candidate – out of all the sentences that have been written in the English language thus far – for being feverishly copied into my notebook when I first encountered it, and then inspiring me to start a newsletter specifically to write about it. (and hopefully, to follow in the future, posts about other sentences too.)

At the very least, it’s hard to imagine a shorter sentence that could muster its way into my attention in the same way: insist on being scribbled into my notebook and then, single handedly, four years later, compel me to start a newsletter dedicated to the sentence.

Perhaps a two-word sentence will overtake this feat in the future, but it seems unlikely.

Let us look, then, at why and how this seemingly non-descript sentence managed to hibernate in my mind for 4 years and finally prompt this outburst.

Before I tell you where this sentence is from, a quick lesson in grammar might be useful – certainly for me, anyway – so that we can register what the words are doing in this very brief sentence.

(Apart from a love of words, I have no training or expertise in grammar, so I turn here to the online Mirriam Webster Dictionary for guidance.)

Blather away!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑